Isis Locs

19 Dec

Today I would like to share some information with you about my hair. I started wearing locs in the summer of 2006. My mother, Isis, started my locs and coined them Isis locs. They are very small locs started from a braiding and interlocking technique. I have had my locs for what seems like ages now and I love them. It was extremely difficult for me to get into the swing of having the same hairstyle everyday but once I realized the versatility of my hair I have grown to absolutely love my hair. I tie it up at night. I wash it. I groom it. I go! Currently I am having a tough time tightening my hair as I do every month for about two weeks. It is difficult to tighten 485 locs all by oneself but each month I get through it! I have found many products and accessories to use to aide in my loc wearing process which I will share with you along this journey. For now I have some photos to share with you to show the progression of my hair from start to now. Enjoy! ~SistersofIsis~

14 Responses to “Isis Locs”

  1. CrucianNaturals.net December 23, 2008 at 1:58 pm #

    Beautiful Hair

  2. Dana January 28, 2009 at 3:36 pm #

    First I would like to say your hair is so beautiful. I would like to loc my hair but I have permed hair. I didn’t want to cut my hair off but if I need to do so. I will because I like the look, size and texture of your locs. Where do I begen?

    • cinemaempress January 30, 2009 at 5:54 am #

      Peace! You don’t have to cut your hair to get isis locs. Where are you located? I can probably recommend someone for you to go to so they can help you to properly make your transition. Stay in Touch!
      Also visit naturallyisis.com for more info on healthy hair.

  3. Dana February 3, 2009 at 2:01 pm #

    Thank you so much for responding to my email. I live in the Dallas area. I was having a little trouble reaching someone at the institute. I will keep trying and/or stop by. I sent Isis an email yesterday. So I should be hearing from her shortly. Again, thank you and I’ll keep you posted.

  4. Lamont April 27, 2009 at 9:42 pm #

    Wow… My God, you are beautiful!! Anywho… sisterlocs or isis locs looks nice on you. I’m currently trying to loc my hair as well. I just can’t seem to decide if I want the bigger or thinner dreads. Be easy… again nice pics.

  5. Aisha A. May 17, 2009 at 6:02 am #

    Hello! First of all, your hair is beautiful your hair!

    Secondly, I’ve been wanting to get my hair loced for quite a while now, but i’m not sure what kind of locs I want.. I love the Isis locs and I now think that these are the locs for me. Also, I haven’ the slightest clue as to who could start them. I don’t want to start on my own and somehow do them incorrectly. My hair is natural, and I usually keep it braided or pressed…

    I live in Indianapolis, IN. Could you please point me in the right direction? I would really appreciate it!
    :)

  6. Aisha A. May 17, 2009 at 6:02 am #

    Email: aisha.tariqa@live.com

  7. henrisha July 27, 2009 at 9:34 pm #

    i’m currently in oceanside, ca and i’m looking for a consultant out here, do you know of anyone?

    • cinemaempress August 8, 2009 at 11:13 pm #

      Contact Joanne Cornwell if you haven’t already-http://www.sisterlocks.com/ Tell her Isis from Texas recommended you :)

  8. Cassie Lewis December 31, 2009 at 7:57 pm #

    Hey, this sounds like it is for me, but the only thing I am concerned about is the tightening, how is that done? Other than that your hair is gorgeous and I would love to try it! December 31, 2009

    • cinemaempress March 29, 2010 at 3:15 am #

      Please call Isis at 214-329-3820 for referrals if you are still interested in getting Isis Locks.

  9. Khadija March 8, 2010 at 9:03 am #

    HI, your locs are very beautiful. My mother, daughter, sister, nieces, freinds and I are interested in isislocs/sisterlocs. I have heard prices quoted on other websites that are often more than i can afford (600-1000). I have tried locing my hair in more traditional larger locs, but due to the many different textures that resided on this lil head, they have never taken. I hve allowed my hair to grow in its natural state for almost 3yrs, and did try to loc it from the very beginnign when i cut off all the perm but have had no success I do see that you also offer more reasonalbe classes as well. I am in Augusta Ga, (not far from the atlanta area). Do you know of anyone within this are that may be albe to give me a consultaiton or of classes that i may take. any information that you are able to provide would be greatly appreciated ….. Peace and Blessings

    • cinemaempress March 29, 2010 at 3:13 am #

      So sorry it has taken so long to get back to you. Isis will be in Atlanta the week of April 10 for the Natural Hair Show hosted by Taliah Waajid. Her phone number is 214-329-3820. Please call her to gather more info about the event and possibly scheduling an appointment to get your hair done. Thank you for the compliment. I hope that I can help in any way possible!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.