GOOD HAIR vs. BAD HAIR– WHERE IS THE WOMAN’S PERSPECTIVE?

9 Aug

goodhairtrailer

SPIKE LEE’S TAKE:

CHRIS ROCK’S TAKE:

I hope this film really takes an honest look at the politics of African American hair and the self hatred imbued by slavery upon the African Psyche when it comes to so called “Nappy” Hair.

How many black women do you know where weaves on a daily basis? Why is this? Are they afraid of wearing their natural hair? If so, Why? Ask yourself these questions. Ask your grandmother. Ask your mother. Ask your daughters. You will be shocked by the answers I am sure!

Blacks are afraid of what their natural God Given Beauty and many of us think that our hair is a curse.

This is a mentality that desperately needs to be reversed. This mentality is perpetuated in pop culture, music, film, television, politics, the office, church, school and everywhere that nappiness exists.

We need to take a look in the mirror and love ourselves and then demand that other people love us for who we are naturally too! Don’t settle for the status quo… challenge ill conceived ideas in search for the TRUTH!
In any event, I already see that I will have to make film that deals with the self esteem of black women and the correlation their hair has upon self love. The Institute of Ancestral Braiding and Sisters of Isis is currently working on several book titles about these subjects. Stay tuned.

-SISTERS OF ISIS ( HAPPY TO BE NAPPY)

4 Responses to “GOOD HAIR vs. BAD HAIR– WHERE IS THE WOMAN’S PERSPECTIVE?”

  1. The Lioness August 9, 2009 at 10:37 pm #

    I grew up strongly believing in the notion of good hair and bad hair and because my hair wasn’t silky straight and half-way down my back, I assumed that I fell in the bad hair category.

    I am now 20 months perm free and I have learned so much about my natural, coily hair. My hair is actually MORE manageable, MORE versatile, and healthier without chemical influence.

    I can say that I still wear weaves occasionally to this day but it’s often more about convenience or the need for just something different than anything else and even when I wear them I tend to find something that is closer to my actual texture like a kinky afro or an indy afro.

    • cinemaempress August 9, 2009 at 10:42 pm #

      Awe, that is wonderful to hear! I live for comments like this on the blog. I am glad that you decided to be brave and face that uncomfortable place of learning to love yourself all over again with a new perspective. I would love to get your hairstory as a submission for our book coming out soon. Please email me your submission to naturallyisis@yahoo.com. Can’t wait! In the mean time if you have questions about cool things you can do with your hair or products to use I will gladly do whatever I can to help you out! Thank you for the comment and please tell your friends about the site and visit naturallyisis.com! Stay Blessed.

  2. Aron Ranen August 10, 2009 at 5:46 am #

    Please take a moment to check out my documentary film BLACK HAIR

    It is free at youtube. 6 parts including an update from London, England.

    It explores the Korean Take-over of the Black Beauty Supply and Hair biz..

    The Madame C.J. Walker story just adds to the situation.

    I am not a hater, I am a motivator.

    Plus I am a White guy who stumbled upon this, and felt it was so wrong I had to make a film about it.

    Can it be taken back?

    Link

    • cinemaempress August 10, 2009 at 2:15 pm #

      Can what be taken back you ask? Slavery/ colonization? No, absolutely not. But we as a PEOPLE white, black, asian, mexican, etc. can make a concerted effort to have an open heart and talk about the oppression and self hatred that has occurred within the black psyche via other races/industries consciously or unconsciously acting as the oppressor. Furthermore we can make an even stronger effort not to support industries that promote and capitalize from stereotypes and the destruction of self esteem even if its unintentional. I am a filmmaker myself and I would love to speak with you more about this issue. I have another documentary I think you would love to work on! My email is talibah.newman@gmail.com Thank you for submitting.

Leave a Reply

